Faculty of Commerce

featured project

Department of Commerce is running a Three Years Bachelor Degree Course in Commerce since the establishment of the college with the mission to train and groom students for better employment and entrepreneurship. The teachers who have constituted the strong base of the department from its initial stage were Prof. B. M. Baraik. Dr. S. R. Singh, Dr. B. K. Sahay, Prof. C. D. Ekka, Dr. L Dungdung, Dr. R L Nag, Dr. Navin Kumar, Dr. Pushkar Nath, Dr. Ashok Tigga, Dr. Royal Dang, Dr. I. J. Khalkho and Dr. M. Prajapati.

Knowledge related to business trade and industries is being imparted to the students, in order to make this knowledge relevant and more beneficial for the students. The department convey information related to recent innovation in the field of commerce regularly to the students. Workshops and seminars are conducted on regular basis and experts from various fields are invited to guide and motivate students for their better future. Recently workshops on the major financial inclusions of the nations such as Demonetization, Goods and Service Tax (GST), Financial Education and Career Counselling after graduation have been conducted.

The department has produced many University Gold Medalists in the Bachelor Degree of Commerce. The Gold Medalists of Commerce for the session 2013-16, 2015-18 and 2017-20 were from the department. In the last five years the department has shown better academic records as 86.25, 92.89, 96.45, 96.56 and 99.51 percentages. The students have successfully completed their graduation with better marks in the year 2015-16, 2016-17, 2017-18, 2018-19 and 2019 20 respectively. While discussing about the achievements of the department the contribution of various Heads who have represented the department cannot be over looked. In the fifty (50) long years of the college the Department of Commerce has been headed by Prof M. Baraik, Dr. S. R. Singh. Dr. B. K. Sahay. Dr. R. L Nag Dr. Pushkar Nath, Dr. Royal Dang and Prof. Shyamlesh Kumar. The present Head of the Department is Prof. Shyamlesh Kumar supported by a competent and diligent faculty constituting Dr. Nasir Ahmed, Dr. Deepak Sharma, Dr. Ajay Kumar, Prof. Akanksha Tigga, Dr. Alisha Samad, Dr. Md. Rehan, Dr. Sudhir Kumar Sinha, Prof. Ajay Pramanik and Prof. Aditya Kumar.

Since 2017, the department has adopted CBCS course curriculum to add historical and current scenario for the students. The department has achieved greater height in the year 2018 by getting affiliated for running Master degree course in Commerce and since then the department is successfully running Bachelor as well as Master's degree course in Commerce. The department teacher student ratio is of 1:60 in Bachelor’s course and 1:20 in Master's course. Besides these curriculums and achievement, the department has several strengths which assist in attaining its departmental objectives effectively and efficiently as all the teachers are well qualified committed technically strong, holding research with Ph.D. and share good bond with students. Apart from these strengths the department strives to perform better by initiating Industrial Linkage.

The UGC has directed all the Central and State Universities of India to introduce NEP (New Education Policy-2020). Therefore, as per the directions of Ranchi University the Department has adopted NEP since 2022. Hence the entire structure and syllabus of course is revised as per National Education Policy-2020.