Department of Chemistry

featured project

The Department of Chemistry was established in 1975 with an objective of providing a platform for excellence in academic growth in Science. The Department of Chemistry is a dynamic, growing department with faculty dedicated to providing quality education. The department offers core courses in B.Sc. & M.Sc. The Master’s Program in Chemistry started in 2018. There are three major specializations offered in M. Sc. such as Physical Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry and Organic Chemistry. The department is also offering a Ph.D. program in different areas in Chemistry. At present the department already has three regular faculty members.

The students are monitored and evaluated by regular class tests, seminars, assignments, mid and end-semester examinations. Furthermore, ‘Beyond Curricular Classroom Lectures’ are also organized, particularly for the final year students and this gives them an opportunity to interact with the eminent scientists and professors.

The department has a laboratory possessing necessary chemicals, reagents, glassware, lab-wares and basic instruments for performing experiments in Physical, Inorganic, Organic and Analytical Chemistry, in general and in synthesis, analysis (for both qualitative and quantitative) and characterization of different Inorganic and Organic compounds in more particulars.

The department has its own library in addition to central library of the College. A pile of books is available in departmental library to fulfill the requirement of the faculty members and students. A number of reference books are available in the Central Library also.

The department has produced many University Toppers, Gold-Medalists, in both U.G. and P.G. programs. In every year students of the department qualify for various competitive exams like IIT-JAM, CSIR-UGC (NET/JRF) etc. to pursue higher studies and contributes to the country by joining different services.

Over the period, the department has been nurtured under the guidance of Dr. Nandi (1977-2012), Dr. L. N. Chobey (1978-2010), Dr. U. K. Mitra (1978-2021) and Dr. B. N. Ghosh (1982-2022).

The present Head of the Department is Dr. S. K. Sengupta (1992-till date) supported by a competent and diligent faculty constituting Prof. B. Dutta (1992-till date) and Dr. Supriti Jana (2023-till date). The faculty members are specialized in frontier areas of Chemical Sciences and have excellent expertise in their own filed. The faculty members of the department have significantly contributed to scientific world through reputed scientific and research publications (like ACS, Oxford, Wiley, Thieme and other journals of national and international levels) and have received many distinguished national and international awards and fellowships. The department has already produced several Ph.D. in all the areas of Chemical Sciences and also in Physics and Mathematics. The faculty has been active in organizing scientific meetings from time to time and they are being invited to deliver lectures at various national and international conferences and symposia.

The department offers a vibrant atmosphere to students and faculty to nurture the spirit of scientific inquiry and to pursue research in a highly encouraging environment.